OCD

OCD or Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder is defined as “a common, chronic and long-lasting disorder in which a person has uncontrollable, reoccurring thoughts (obsessions) and behaviors (compulsions) that he or she feels the urge to repeat over and over.” 

As I have mentioned in my post My Story I have been diagnosed with OCD only a couple of months ago. It was of course not a new behaviour at the time but nothing I had seen as an illness or disorder. At first I was shocked – mostly because it is a part of me that I hadn’t really given any thought. But then I got angry. Hearing that things that are as much a part of my daily routine as sleeping and going to the bathroom are so “wrong” that they’re labeled as a disorder just made me pay so much more attention to them. I now question every move I make – and even worse hate myself for it.

My OCD: I avoid (and I mean seriously avoid) any even number.

For example:

  • I only feel comfortable posting on odd dates.
  • I seeing an even number of posts makes me so sick that I want to either delete one or add one.
  • Having only two keys I need, I have to keep a third key: the key of the lock of my bike – the lock broke and my bike was stolen.
  • I can’t unplug/plug-in my phone or computer at an even percentage.
  • I need to have an odd amount of pillows on my bed.
  • In stores I can’t take the first, second, fourth, sixth… item.
  • My alarm is always set to an odd number of minutes. Even hours make me cringe but I guess I can’t change that…

In situations where I don’t have an influence (e.g. when I get a parking ticket or as aforementioned alarmclock setting), I either can’t look at it or I make up a story in my head so it would odd number again (e.g. add up the total numbers).


Though what I really want to address with this post, is how people shouldn’t react to my – or anyone else’s – OCD.

  • Don’t tell us how to do things.
  • Don’t say “Oh just think about something else”
  • Don’t say we’re being ridiculous.
  • Don’t try to force us into changing our behaviour!
  • Stop emphasizing how stupid you think we’re being.

And also: STOP USING THE TERM OCD LIKE IT IS A JOKE. I realize that my OCD does not affect/complicate my life that much, but OCD is a serious condition. Just like any other mental illness, the term shouldn’t casually be misused by ignorant bleeps. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

